The introduction of the Modern Apprenticeship Framework in 1995 was a turning point for training in the industrial and commercial environments, where the measurement of ability (or competence) became the key element in the development of the individual.

For example:

Modern Apprenticeships in Engineering are designed to attract bright, able people to the industry and provide them with the skills required by employers.

Engineering has 7 training pathways approved through the Sector Skills Council - SEMTA

Technical Operator 1-2 Years SEMTA Programme
Craft Apprentice 3-4 Year Modern Apprentice Programme
Technician Apprentice 3-4 Year Modern Apprentice Programme
Graduate 1-4 Year SEMTA Programme
Management/Supervision As Required
Commercial As Required
Continuing Personal Development As Required

Other Modern Apprenticeship Frameworks have different pathways but all will have some common components.

A Modern Apprenticeship Programme may involve:

  • A period of training in an approved training centre (off the job)
  • Completion of a Level 2 VQ
  • Attainment of core skills to intermediate one level (minimum)
  • Completion of a National Certificate (day release at FE College)
  • Completion of a Level 3 VQ in company (on the job)

Some companies still offer a Traditional Apprenticeship, similar to the MA described above but without the academic component.In both cases employers may recruit from those at a training centre such as EKGTA, or from direct applicants to the company. The main recruitment of Apprentices by companies takes place in the summer of each year with employment commencing normally in August . However interviewing, testing and recruitment takes place earlier and you should be alert to applying for advertised vacancies from March each year.

popupDisplay: False