Awards Ceremony 2019

EKGTA’s Annual award ceremony is considered to be a very special occasion in our calendar of events each year.

It’s main purpose is to recognise formally the achievements of the individuals who have undergone training as engineering apprentices at our training centre and in their workplace with their employers. It was also an opportunity to showcase our superb training facility in East Kilbride.

Those selected for awards reflect the high standard of performance attained by all trainees throughout all aspects of their individual training programmes and with over 90 apprentices in the centre this year the judging was very difficult.

This year’s awards ceremony was on the 9th May. The event was very well attended by member company representatives and the principle speaker was Mr Robert Bruce, Sector Development Specialist from Engineering Sector Skills Council SEMTA.

This year there were 10 teams competing for the Chairman’s Award, which is awarded to the best project team, and the winning team was “Four + 4" which consisted of:

  • Cameron Wishart - Finsbury Food GroupDSCF1540
  • Ross Paton - Konecranes Demag Ltd
  • Adam Auld  - R&B Switchgear Ltd
  • Hubert Matecki - SPX Flowl
  • Callum McAllister - Star Refrigeration
  • Sebastian Haraburda - UIN Foods Ltd
  • Rachel Lister - Viridor
  • Reece Alexander - Volvo CE Haulers

 As part of the Chairman’s award the winning team enjoyed an event at Scotkart, Cambuslang. This is always a highly competitive, adrenalin pumping couple of hours. The apprentices really enjoyed this experience and were well looked after by the Scotkart team. 



Aaron McMath – Swissmatic Ltd won the most prestigious award  “Apprentice of the Year”. This award is presented to the individual trainee judged to be the ‘Best Final Year Apprentice’ and their ability and performance over their four year development programme is the basis for selection of the winner.



Also pictured in the back row are Drew Alexander, Training Advisor EKGTA, Iain Goodwin, Swissmatic Ltd, front row: Hugh McKinnon Chairman of EKGTA, Aaron and Robert Bruce of SEMTA.


Skills Awards are given in recognition of the trainees, who attained a high standard of performance throughout the Foundation phase of their training; who excelled in a particular technical skill area; and who achieved the highest aggregate points score across the criteria applied by our staff in terms of Knowledge/Technical Skills, Practical Ability, Timekeeping & Attendance, Behaviour & Attitude, and Vocational Assessment.

  • FITTING - Euan Glenesk - The Boxshop
  • MILLING - Scott Whitefield - Martin Aerospace
  • TURNING - John Lastinger - McGowan Engineering Ltd
  • CNC - James Galbraith - Valve Components Ltd
  • IT Skills - James Duncan - SPX Flow
  • ELECTRICAL - Andrew Ramsay - Konecranes Services
  • WELDING - James Duncan - SPX Flow
  • MAINTENANCE - Steven Smith - Allied Bakeries 

DSCF1536The best overall first year apprentice award is presented in recognition of the best overall performance of a 1st year apprentice undertaking their foundation training programme.

This year the award was won by  Euan Glenesk – The Boxshop and was presented by Paul Hudson of sponsors Volvo CE Haulers.  

To recognise individuals who demonstrate continuing professional development in their employment, the ‘Learner of the Year’ prize which was donated by our former Chairman Mr Hugh Logan is awarded. This years Hugh Logan Award wwas won by Slavomir Klimonda of Finsbury Foof Group.


Prizes are also donated by Glasgow Clyde College, which, in partnership with EKGTA, deliver the academic components of our Modern Apprenticeship in Engineering Programme. These Awards are intended to recognise outstanding performance by individuals across all aspects of the academic studies during the apprenticeship programme. The prizes were presented by the Mr Graeme MacDonald, Curriculum Head at Glasgow Clyde College.

The winner of the National Certificate in Manufacturing Engineering Award was Ryan Williams - Liberty Steel who had an outstanding year in his academic studies, working extremely hard and passing all learning outcomes.

The winner of the National Certificate in Electrical Engineering Award was Adam Lyon - Scottish Water, who also had a very successful and productive year.

EKGTA wishes to congratulate all the winners and wish them every success in their future career also a big thanks to all the company representatives and our special guest, Mr Robert Bruce who helped make the occasion a highlight of our training year.

A very special thanks to all our sponsors companies who provided the generous trophies and prizes.


popupDisplay: False