Awards Ceremony 2018

EKGTA’s Annual award ceremony is considered to be a very special occasion in our calendar of events each year.

It’s main purpose is to recognise formally the achievements of the individuals who have undergone training as engineering apprentices at our training centre and in their workplace with their employers. It was also an opportunity to showcase our superb training facility in East Kilbride.

Those selected for awards reflect the high standard of performance attained by all trainees throughout all aspects of their individual training programmes and with over 80 apprentices in the centre this year the judging was very difficult.

This year’s awards ceremony was on the 10th May. The event was very well attended by member company representatives and the principle speaker was Mr Alan Stewart, Divsional Director, Weir Engineering Services.

This year there were 10 teams competing for the Chairman’s Award, which is awarded to the best project team, and the winning team was “FIRE" which consisted of:

  • Jack McDonald - BCF TechnologyDSCF1540
  • Jordan Briody - Coca Cola
  • Scott Hornell - Defence Munitions (Beith)
  • Ryan Williams - Liberty Steel
  • Shaunagh McPhee - Scottish Water
  • Scott Livingstone - Terex Trucks
  • Gordon Moon - The Boxshop
  • Also pictured here is Hugh McKinnon Chairman EKGTA

As part of the Chairman’s award the winning team enjoyed an event at Scotkart, Cambuslang. This is always a highly competitive, adrenalin pumping couple of hours. The apprentices really enjoyed this experience and were well looked after by the Scotkart team. 




Greig Williams – Vallourec Oil & Gas UK Ltd won the most prestigious award  “Apprentice of the Year”. This award is presented to the individual trainee judged to be the ‘Best Final Year Apprentice’ and their ability and performance over their four year development programme is the basis for selection of the winner.

Also pictured in the back row are Derek Brown, Training Advisor EKGTA, Craig Jackson and Paul McIlhatton and, Vallourec Oil & Gas UK Ltd,front row: Alan Stewart Weir Engineering Services, Greig and Hugh McKinnon Chairman


Skills Awards are given in recognition of the trainees, who attained a high standard of performance throughout the Foundation phase of their training; who excelled in a particular technical skill area; and who achieved the highest aggregate points score across the criteria applied by our staff in terms of Knowledge/Technical Skills, Practical Ability, Timekeeping & Attendance, Behaviour & Attitude, and Vocational Assessment.

  • FITTING - Lauren Wright - Terex Trucks
  • MILLING - Jenifer Kolonko - Coca-Cola European Partners
  • TURNING - Craig Burns - McAlpine & Co Ltd
  • CNC - Ben Balgowan - Valve Components Ltd
  • IT Skills - Ross Mitchell - Terex Trucks
  • ELECTRICAL - Lauren Wright - Terex Trucks
  • WELDING - Aidan Stott - Star Refrigeration Ltd
  • MAINTENANCE - Jakub Kilmonda - Finsbury Foods 


The best overall first year apprentice award is presented in recognition of the best overall performance of a 1st year apprentice undertaking their foundation training programme.

This year the award was won by  Jakub Kilmonda – Finsbury Foods and was presented by Robert Bruce of SEMTA.  

To recognise individuals who demonstrate continuing professional development in their employment, the ‘Learner of the Year’ prize which was donated by our former Chairman Mr Hugh Logan is awarded. This years Hugh Logan Award wwas won by Paul Fettes of Abellio Scotrail.


Prizes are also donated by Glasgow Clyde College, which, in partnership with EKGTA, deliver the academic components of our Modern Apprenticeship in Engineering Programme. These Awards are intended to recognise outstanding performance by individuals across all aspects of the academic studies during the apprenticeship programme. The prizes were presented by the Mr Chris Gray, Lecturer at Glasgow Clyde College.

The winner of the National Certificate in Manufacturing Engineering Award was Ryan Williams - Liberty Steel who had an outstanding year in his academic studies, working extremely hard and passing all learning outcomes.

The winner of the National Certificate in Electrical Engineering Award was Adam Lyon - Scottish Water, who also had a very successful and productive year.

EKGTA wishes to congratulate all the winners and wish them every success in their future career also a big thanks to all the company representatives and our special guest, Mr Alan Stewart who helped make the occasion a highlight of our training year.

A very special thanks to all our sponsors companies who provided the generous trophies and prizes.


popupDisplay: False